MA Marijuana Law
MA Recreational Marijuana Law
On November 8, 2016, Massachusetts voters approved Question 4, which legalizes, regulates and taxes recreational marijuana throughout the state. Adults age 21 or older can possess up to one ounce of marijuana and grow up to six plants beginning on December 15, 2016.
Dispensaries will begin selling recreational marijuana in early 2018.
MA Medical Marijuana Law
Massachusetts’ Medical Use of Marijuana Program allows a qualifying patient to possess a 60-day supply of marijuana if the patient has a written certification from a Massachusetts licensed doctor. The Massachusetts Department of Public Health (DPH) has defined a 60-day supply of marijuana to be 10 ounces, or the equivalent in other forms (such as marijuana-infused edibles). Patients can cultivate marijuana or purchase it from state-licensed dispensaries.
Massachusetts’ Medical Use of Marijuana Program allows qualifying patients to apply for cultivation registration, which would allow the patient, or the patient’s designated personal caregiver, to cultivate marijuana at home the patient’s own use. Patients and caregivers can grow a sufficient amount for their 60-day supply as certified by the patient’s doctor.
Learn more: Massachusetts Medical Use of Marijuana Program