Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Law
The Campaign to Regulate Marijuana Like Alcohol in Massachusetts is an initiative to regulate and tax marijuana like alcohol in Massachusetts. The initiative will likely be on the November 2016 ballot.
The campaign’s website summarizes the initiative as:
What the Initiative Does
- Adult Possession — It allows adults 21 years of age and older to possess up to one ounce of marijuana outside of their residences and up to 10 ounces of marijuana in an enclosed, locked space within their residences, which mimics the current in-residence allowance established by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health for medical marijuana patients. Possession of more than one ounce but less than two ounces of marijuana outside of a residence will be punishable by a civil fine. Possession of more than two ounces outside of a residence will be punishable by existing penalties.
- Limited Home Growing — It allows adults 21 years of age and older to grow up to six marijuana plants in an enclosed, locked space within their residences and possess the marijuana produced by those plants in the location where it was grown. No more than 12 total marijuana plants can be grown in a single residence. Property owners and landlords will have the right to prohibit marijuana from being grown on their property.
- Regulation and Oversight — It creates a tightly controlled system of licensed marijuana retail stores, cultivation facilities, product manufacturing facilities, and testing facilities, and it establishes the Cannabis Control Commission (similar to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission) to implement and enforce regulations governing the cultivation, sale, and testing of marijuana. The commission will include a enforcement unit that will be responsible for enforcing regulations, conducting compliance checks, and investigating violations.
- Local Control — Cities and towns will have the authority to impose limits on where and when marijuana businesses are allowed to operate.
- Taxes Marijuana Sales — It will enact a 3.75% state excise tax on retail marijuana sales (in addition to the 6.25% state sales tax), which will be used to fund the implementation and enforcement of regulations. Any additional marijuana tax revenue will be re-deposited into the General Fund. It will also allow localities to impose an additional tax of up to 2% on retail marijuana sales. Medical marijuana sales will NOT be subject to these additional state and local taxes.
What the Initiative Does NOT Do
- Public Use — It does NOT allow marijuana to be used in public. Using marijuana on the street, in parks, or any other public place will remain illegal.
- Driving Under the Influence — It does NOT change existing regarding driving under the influence of marijuana. Driving while impaired by marijuana will remain entirely illegal.
- Unlicensed Activities — It does NOT allow unlicensed individuals to sell any amount of marijuana or produce marijuana extracts using butane or other potentially hazardous products.
- Employment Policies — It does NOT affect employers’ current marijuana policies or their ability to establish workplace restrictions on marijuana consumption by employees.
- Medical Marijuana Rights — It does NOT enact a tax on the sale of medical marijuana or affect the rights granted to patients under the state’s voter-approved medical .
Learn more here: Campaign to Regulate Marijuana Like Alcohol in Massachusetts
Qualifying Medical Marijuana Conditions in Massachusetts:
- positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
- acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
- hepatitis C
- amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- multiple sclerosis
- or other conditions as determined in writing by a .
– Learn how to get a medical marijuana card in Massachusetts.
– Learn more about Massachusetts medical marijuana laws.
Massachusetts Department of Public Health Completed the Medical Marijuana Act Final Regulations in May 2013.
The Massachusetts Department of Public Health (DPH) presented the Public Health Council with a final regulation implementing An Act Regarding Humanitarian Medical Use of Marijuana. The Public Health Council unanimously approved the marijuana regulation, commending the Department for its professional development of the regulation.
In November 2012, 63 percent of Massachusetts voters approved Ballot Question 3, with majority support from 349 out of 351 communities across the Commonwealth. The Act becameon January 1, 2013, allowing qualifying patients with certain defined debilitating medical conditions to obtain and use marijuana for medicinal purposes as approved by their physicians. Under the law, DPH was charged with drafting regulations for medical marijuana in Massachusetts.
The regulations approved today reflect unprecedented public input from hundreds of stakeholders across the Commonwealth including legislators,advocates, nationally recognized , prevention advocates, leading clinician and physician groups, municipal leadership and law enforcement. DPH also took into account best practices from 17 other states as well as public input from several listening sessions and formal public hearings.
“DPH has carefully considered hundreds of opinions and concerns from across the Commonwealth to create a medical marijuana system that is right for Massachusetts,” said DPH Interim Commissioner Dr. Lauren Smith. “The final regulations reflect a balanced approach that will provide appropriate access to patients, while maintaining a secure system that keeps our communities safe.”
Through the ballot initiative, DPH was charged with creating regulations for cultivation and dispensing of medical marijuana and guidelines for personal caregivers, among other issues. DPH’s final regulation includes the following provisions:
– Registered Marijuana Dispensaries: DPH requires each non-profit organization, now known as a Registered Marijuana Dispensary (RMD), previously known as medical marijuana, to operate their own cultivation and dispensing facilities. This allows for uniform seed-to-sale control and maximized security. Limited wholesale distribution of marijuana is allowed between dispensaries to maximize appropriate access to patients with legitimate needs. The change in nomenclature, proposed and adopted by the Public Health Council, stems from a recognition that the activity of these entities is limited to cultivation, preparation, and dispensing of products, and that they do not provide treatment to patients.
– Promoting Patient Access: Recognizing the challenges presented by having access to only one RMD, DPH has responded to public comment by adopting a regulation in which patients may choose which RMD to purchase products from, similar to a pharmacy, instead of being required to designate only one RMD. This inclusive framework will promote appropriate access for patients in need, while strict requirements on RMDs will ensure security.
– Hardship Cultivation: DPH minimizes home cultivation by optimizing access through a variety of approaches, including: 1) Mandating the industry provides and finances discounted rates for low-income residents at all RMDs. 2) allowing secure home delivery where necessary, and 3) encouraging personal caregivers to pick up product in lieu of cultivation.
– Personal Caregivers: A family member or friend who is at least twenty-one (21) years old may care for a patient using marijuana for medical purposes. DPH’s final regulation requires that except in the case of certain health care workers providing care to a qualifying patient, or immediate family members, a caregiver may only serve one patient. A qualifying patient may have up to two caregivers.
– Debilitating Medical Condition: DPH does not further define which medical conditions qualify patients for medicinal use of marijuana, instead leaving that important decision to physicians and their patients. DPH does, however, define the word ‘debilitating,’ clarifying that medical marijuana is intended for use in patients with serious conditions.
– Defining a 60-Day Supply: Balancing the potential for diversion with legitimate patient needs, the final regulation allows up to 10 ounces for a personal 60-day supply. Physicians retain the autonomy and authority to increase the amount of a 60-day supply in limited circumstances as they see fit in their professional judgment.
– Defining a Bona-Fide Physician-Patient Relationship: Means a relationship between a physician, acting in the usual course of his or her professional practice, and a patient in which the physician has conducted a clinical visit, completed and documented a full assessment of the patient’s medical history and current medical condition, has explained the potential benefits and risks of marijuana use, and has a role in the ongoing care and treatment of the patient.
– Limiting Pediatric Access: The regulation restricts access to those less than 18 years of age, requiring parent or guardian approval and certification by two physicians, one of whom must be a pediatrician or pediatric specialist. The regulation allows youth access for a life-limiting illness, likely to result in death within two years. Recognizing the need of a small population of youth with debilitating conditions that may not lead rapidly to death, two physicians may override the life-limiting restriction if they determine the benefits of medical use of marijuana outweigh the risks.
– Laboratory Testing: The regulations require a quality assurance and periodic testing plan for contaminants, such as pests, mold, mildew, heavy metals and pesticides. The testing is to be done by an accredited, independent laboratory and paid for by the RMD.
– Municipal Oversight: DPH has responsibility for the medical marijuana program throughout the state, including registration of individuals and RMDs, inspection of RMDs, and enforcement. DPH has developed an inclusive framework for engaging municipal government. DPH does not preclude municipalities from assessing fees or passing certain local regulations, including zoning or siting. The regulation takes local support into account in the consideration of applications. The regulation also requires that applicants notify communities early in the application process, and grants certain rights to local authorities in the inspection of RMDs.
– Advertising: Recognizing the concerns of the substance abuse prevention community and municipalities, while also taking into account the need for qualifying patients to have access to information about RMDs, DPH has limited certain advertising materials, including, for example, prohibiting ads that depict or encourage the recreational use of marijuana, or portray youth, or show smoking or smokable products.
– Deceptive Packaging: The regulations prohibit marijuana-infused, edible products from resembling any form of commercially available candy.
The regulation approved today goes into effect on May 24, 2013. For qualifying patients who have already received a written recommendation from a physician, no further action is needed at this time. The law allows such a qualifying patient to cultivate a supply of marijuana for personal medicinal use in the absence of a formalized medical marijuana program. Until DPH implements this program and provides public notification of the need to register with the Department, this provision remains in effect.
This spring, DPH will also be engaging in a process to determine fees for medical marijuana registrants. By law, this program must be self-sustaining through these fees. No taxpayer dollars will be used to subsidize marijuana for medical use.
DPH will then engage in a competitive application process for medical marijuana treatment centers in the summer and fall of 2013.
For further information, frequently asked questions are available on the DPH medical marijuana website,www.mass.gov/medicalmarijuana, along with a memo to the Public Health Council summarizing key issues, and the full regulations. Courtesy of www.mass.gov.
In a nutshell, what does Question 3 do? Question 3 allows patients with debilitating medical conditions to possess up to a 60-day supply of medical marijuana, and it requires the Department of Public Health to register up to 35 medical marijuana— non-profit entities legally authorized to cultivate, process, transport, and distribute medical marijuana — by January 1, 2014. Patients who have limited access to treatment centers may register with the department to cultivate their own limited supply of medical marijuana.
When does the newtake effect? The law goes into effect January 1, 2013. Within 120 days of that date, the Department is required to issue regulations for the processing of applications and applications to operate medical marijuana treatment centers. Until those regulations are finalized, Question 3 stipulates that a qualifying patient’s written recommendation shall serve as a registration card for the patient.
How do patients qualify for legal protection under the new law? First, a patient must obtain a written certification from his or her. The doctor must have a bona fide relationship with the patient and must conduct a full assessment of the patient. Then, the patient must apply to the Department for a registration card, which allows the patient to be clearly identified as legal by law enforcement officers.
How much medical marijuana does the new law allow qualifying patients to possess? Question 3 requires the department to determine what amount should be considered a presumptive 60-day supply based on the best available evidence. The Department must make this determination within 120 days of the law going into effect. Patients in certain circumstances may exceed this presumptive limit if they are able to demonstrate evidence of medical necessity.
What conditions must patients have to qualify? Question 3 allowsto recommend medical marijuana for the following medical conditions: “Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS), hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Crohn’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis and other conditions as determined in writing by a qualifying patient’s physician.”
When will treatment centers open and begin distributing medical marijuana to patients? Once regulations are in place, Question 3 requires the Department to issue registration certificates to qualified applicants wishing to operate medical marijuana treatment centers within 90 days of receiving their applications. Up to 35 centers may be registered by January 1, 2014. If the Department determines 35 centers are insufficient, it may decide to increase the number in 2014. At least one center must be located in each county, and no more than five may locate in a single county. There is no clear timetable for when treatment centers will be able to open and begin serving patients.
How can a patient qualify to legally grow marijuana? Question 3 includes the following “hardship” provision: “The Department shall issue a cultivation registration to a qualifying patient whose access to a medicalis limited by verified financial hardship, a physical incapacity to access reasonable transportation, or the lack of a treatment center within a reasonable distance of the patient’s residence … Such registration shall allow the patient or the patient’s personal caregiver to cultivate a limited number of plants, sufficient to maintain a 60-day supply of marijuana, and shall require cultivation and storage only in an enclosed, locked facility.”
Additionally, Question 3 allows qualifying patients with written recommendations to begin cultivating medical marijuana January 1, 2013: “Until the department issues such final regulations, the written recommendation of a qualifying patient’s physician shall constitute a limited cultivation registration.” Credit to www.MPP.org